ISTQB® Advanced Level Test Automation Engineer Exam (CTAL-TAE)

For those who have cleared the ISTQB® Foundation Level exam, the ISTQB® Advanced Level Test Automation Engineer exam awaits you.  The exam itself takes 90 minutes and is 40 questions multiple-choice.  Major topics covered by the syllabus are:

  • Test Automation
  • Preparing for test automation
  • The generic test automation architecture
  • Deployment risks and contingencies
  • Test automation reporting and metrics
  • Transitioning manual testing to an automated environment
  • Verifying the TAS
  • Continuous improvement

Continue reading

ISTQB® releases Advanced Level Test Automation Engineer (CTAL-TAE) Syllabus

At the ISTQB® General Assembly meeting in Seoul, Korea (October 2016), the ISTQB® Advanced Level Test Automation Engineer Certification syllabus (CTAL-TAE) was approved for general availability release.  More information can be found in the press release here:  The syllabus is now available for download here:


ISTQB® Advanced Level Security Tester (CTAL-SEC) Certification

Security concept: blue opened padlock on digital background, 3d render

“Information Security is identified today as one of the top priorities for CIOs, however, the only way to know if security defenses are effective is to test them. The Advanced Security Tester certification equips testers with knowledge of how to find security flaws and to determine if defenses are working correctly.” Randall W. Rice, CTAL-SEC Working Group Chair.

Continue reading

ISTQB® Foundation Level Model-Based Tester (CTFL-MBT) Certification

Model-based testing is an innovative test approach to improve effectivity and efficiency of the test process.

A model-based tester on a project uses models to drive test analysis and design, and keeps advantage of the models for other testing activities such as test implementation and reporting.

ISTQB® Model-Based Tester certification complements the core foundation level as a specialist module.

Continue reading